A Message from the Board of Trustees

March 20, 2020

With the increasing severity of the COVID-19 pandemic, and the resulting volatility in global capital markets, the Board of Trustees of the Canadian Commercial Workers Industry Pension Plan (“CCWIPP”) wishes to reassure you that CCWIPP will continue all operations critical to meeting Members’ needs, with no anticipated delay in processing pension payments. Servicing our Members – particularly in such trying times – remains our top priority.

Administrative Changes

In accordance with Health Canada guidance, the Plan’s Administrator, Prudent Benefits Administration Services, Inc., has taken significant steps to ensure the health and well-being of its employees and the community while maintaining critical operations. While these measures include a large number of employees working remotely, protocols have been put in place to maintain service without compromising Member privacy.

You will, however, note the following changes for the time being.

  • Slightly longer response times to inquiries, due in part to higher-than-normal call volume. Members are encouraged to reach out via the “Contact Us” link above.
  • A temporary closure of our offices to external visitors.  Should you wish to discuss your pension with an administrator, please click the “Contact Us” link above to schedule a telephone meeting.

We apologize for any inconvenience these changes may cause.

Funded Status of CCWIPP

While it is too early to determine the impact of the ongoing market volatility on the funded status of CCWIPP, the Trust Fund continues to be invested in a broadly-diversified portfolio of high-quality assets, with an investment strategy designed to be resilient in challenging investment climates. The Board of Trustees remains committed to investing CCWIPP’s assets prudently, controlling expenses, and maintaining its philosophy of transparency, accountability, and sound governance.

Communication

As the situation continues to progress, we will provide further updates as events unfold or if the Administrator’s operational arrangements should change. While there has been no indication of a potential disruption to postal service, we would encourage Members who have not yet signed up for direct deposit to do so as soon as possible by contacting us. Lastly, we welcome your questions and feedback – please do not hesitate to contact us.

Our hearts go out to all those affected by this unprecedented crisis.

(Investment Performance)

MESSAGE FROM BOARD OF TRUSTEES
Q & A's

Call back request form

Message du conseil des fiduciaires

20 mars 2020

En raison de la gravité croissante de la pandémie de COVID-19 et de l’instabilité résultante des marchés financiers mondiaux, le conseil de fiduciaires du Régime de retraite des employés de commerce du Canada (RRECC) souhaite vous rassurer que le RRECC poursuivra toutes les activités qui sont essentielles pour répondre aux besoins de ses membres, et qu’aucun délai n’est prévu dans le traitement des paiements de pension. Assurer le service pour nos membres, principalement pendant cette période si difficile, reste notre priorité absolue.

Changements administratifs

Conformément aux recommandations de Santé Canada, l’administrateur du Régime, Le Groupe PBAS, a pris des mesures importantes pour assurer la santé et le bien-être de ses employés et de la communauté tout en maintenant les activités essentielles. Bien que ces mesures comprennent le travail à distance pour un grand nombre d’employés, des protocoles ont été mis en place pour maintenir le service sans compromettre la confidentialité des membres.

Toutefois, vous noterez les changements suivants pour l’instant.

  • Des temps de réponse légèrement plus longs aux demandes de renseignements, en partie en raison d’un volume d’appels plus élevé que la normale. Les membres sont encouragés à utiliser le lien « Communiquez avec nous » ci-dessus.
  • Une fermeture temporaire de nos bureaux aux visiteurs de l’extérieur. Si vous souhaitez discuter de votre pension en personne avec un administrateur, veuillez cliquer sur le lien « Communiquez avec nous » ci-dessus pour planifier une réunion téléphonique.

Nous nous excusons pour tout inconvénient causé par ces changements.

Statut du financement du RRECC

Bien qu’il soit trop tôt pour déterminer l’impact de la volatilité actuelle du marché sur le statut du financement du RRECC, le fonds en fiducie reste investi dans un portefeuille largement diversifié d’actifs de haute qualité, avec une stratégie de placement conçue pour être résistante dans des climats difficiles pour les placements. Le conseil de fiduciaires reste déterminé à investir les actifs du RRECC avec prudence, à contrôler les dépenses et à maintenir sa philosophie de transparence, de responsabilité et de bonne gouvernance.

Communication

Alors que la situation continue à évoluer, nous fournirons d’autres mises à jour au fur et à mesure des événements ou si les arrangements opérationnels de l’administrateur devaient changer. Bien que rien n’indique une éventuelle interruption du service postal, nous encourageons les membres qui ne se sont pas encore inscrits au dépôt direct à le faire le plus rapidement possible en nous contactant. Enfin, vos questions et vos commentaires sont les bienvenus – n’hésitez pas à prendre contact avec nous.

Nous compatissons avec tous ceux qui sont touchés par cette crise sans précédent.

(rendement des placements)

MESSAGE DU CONSEIL DES FIDUCIAIRES
Questions et réponses

Formulaire de demande de retour d'appel